Whole30 Week2

The Whole30 has got me trying a whole bunch of new things. Let me tell you about them.

For breakfast this week I made a pretty awesome Dairy Free Frittata thanks to BravoForPaleo. Normally I am not one to reheat an egg dish, but this is pretty good and like that you get a hint of the coconut milk when you take a bite.

As for lunches, as always, Dan and I eat the same meals, twice. We prepare to meals, enough to make 4 servings each and eat it twice by splitting it up. Our first meal I just sort of put together, so there is no formal recipe but I made Whole30 Taco bowls where I used this site for the seasoning. Inside of our taco bowls I cooked a chopped onion, 2 chopped bell peppers in some coconut oil, added 3lbs ground beef and 1lb ground turkey and then added that taco seasoning to the mix. I add avocado to it during lunch after I warm it up, and for Dan, he adds tortillas and/or chips to the mix to add some carbs. Here are a few Whole30 taco recipes I did find though:

Lettuce Wrap Tacos

Whole30 Taco Salad

Paleo Taco Skillet

We also made an oven roasted chicken. And although I’d love to write about how great this is, next time… I am just going to buy a rotisserie chicken and call it good. Way too much work, it was more expensive to make my own, and the flavor was just okay. Unless it’s a holiday I probably will never spend the time to do this again. But if you get creative, here are a few do-it-yourself oven roasted chicken recipes I did find.

Lemon & Herb Roasted Chicken

One-Hour Whole Roasted Chicken (check to make sure the lemon seasoning doesn’t have added sugar)

 

Next. Dinner.

We made an old staple from THIS website. Our Pulled Pork BLT. Typically yes I would put the pulled pork on a sandwich and eat it like that, but during the Whole30 I have taken away the bread. Dan has left it in. This is tasty and a super easy crock pot meal for anyone to make.

Week 2 of the Whole30 hasn’t been horrible, but next weekend I hope to find even easier meals to prep. I was in the kitchen for way too long on Sunday, but can’t wait to find new things to try.

 

 

Processed with Snapseed.

Chicken, Purple Potatoes, Egg Frittata

 

 

 

 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Chicken, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

About Us
This blog is brought to you by Dan & Kyla. Both of us are dedicated to eating as healthy as possible, working out, being active, and challenging ourselves to experience everything life has to offer. Our Sunday 'prep day' has helped us grow closer as a couple and has allowed us to enjoy our seldom 'cheat days' to the fullest. Friends and family have always had questions about our weekly rituals and recipes so we thought we would share how we go week to week, finding recipes, cooking our meals, and managing our busy lifestyle with a health conscience view. This is the first blog we have created together and will hopefully get progressively better with our posts and feedback. Please feel free to post any comments or questions about a recipe, or ideas on how to make the recipe or website better. Most of all we hope you enjoy what we have to share. Guten Appetit!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

InstagramUpdate

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

